Fun with Color

So as I begin to sketch my website and decide what it will look like, color becomes a big issue. Like we talked about in class, I really want to start working with a color scheme that I like. I want to try out lots of colors before I pick what I really want. I found a great website to help out with this. It is from Adobe. Check it out:

-First, go to “” and check out the site.

-You can make sets of colors that you think go well together by going to the little slider on the center-right of the screen. See the screen shot below for help finding it. If you click the slider you can adjust each color individually.

– If you want to become a member, you can save them and view the creations of others.

-Hit the “register” button in the upper right corner to sign up. This link will let you sign up for an account with Adobe, that can be used to access and save on the Kuler page.

The advantage of this is you have lots of control over the sets, picking if the colors in your set are analogous (The analogous color scheme uses colors that are adjacent to each other on the color wheel), complementary, shades of a color, etc. More to come as I continue with my website endeavor.

-Abby V.

~ by avanim on January 15, 2010.

