taking screenshots on mac/windows

I noticed a few posts on this blog display screenshots showing how to do whatever they’re posting about.  Just in case anybody is wondering “how do I do that?!”, I thought I would outline a couple of useful keyboard shortcuts that allow you to take screenshots of the goings-on in your computer monitor.

Mac OSX:

“Command-Shift-3”  Takes a screenshot of your computer screen and saves it to the desktop

“Command-Shift-4” Takes a screenshot of  a selected area of your computer screen.


“Print Screen”  Captures a screenshot as a “copy”, meaning you can paste the picture wherever.

Hopefully this was helpful.  Please feel free to add more of these useful keyboard shortcuts, as I’m sure I missed a ton of cooler things to do.

Matthew Pietropaoli

~ by mattpietro527 on January 19, 2010.

