A more precise way to select part of an image.

Magic wand and the quick selection tool can sometimes be a pain when selecting part of an image. Little pieces might not get selected or too much might get selected – they just aren’t really tools I like to deal with. Instead I like to use the quick mask tool, which is really helpful when making a cutout.

Bring up your image and select the quick mask tool, marked in the picture below:

Then select the brush tool. Paint the part of the image you want to select. It will appear red:

This will allow you to be much more exact about what you want to select in the image. It might take you a long time your first try, but once you get the hang of it, it’s awesome. I’ve never been able to get another tool as precise.

Once you have the part of the image you want selected completely painted in, hit the quick mask tool again. Ta-da! Your painted-in section will be selected.

-Sarah Vinski

P.S. I use this in Photoshop CS3. I can’t imagine the quick mask tool being any different in CS4.

~ by Sarah on January 20, 2010.

2 Responses to “A more precise way to select part of an image.”

  1. Hey Sarah-

    i tried this out in CS4 and as far as I can tell once I paint it in, I can’t get it to mask. Any ideas? Maybe I missed a step.


  2. Did you press the quick mask tool on more time? If for any reason it’s selecting the background and not your image, go to select->inverse.

    I’ll play around a little more and get back to you as soon possible.

Comments are closed.

