Fun Effects in Soundbooth

Hey guys-

I’ve been trying out Soundbooth but I wasn’t sure where to go to add interesting effects, like the one already mentioned on the blog. I watched the tutorials and through playing around a bit I think I’ve got some little helpful hints.

First, by accident, I found that if you make a recording and you want to start using it for a multi-track project like we talked about in class, there is a quick way to do that. If you have the recording up and you right click on the track, in your pop-up menu you will have the option to “insert waveform into new multi-track file.”

From there, a new file is created that allows you to add many layers of audio. Remember, like mentioned in class, you will have to drag files to the multi-track recording to add them. I forgot that briefly and it caused some confusion.

Once you have a few things layered in your Soundbooth multi-track recording, you can start to have fun. I did use the “reduce noise”, “remove clicks and pops” and the “remove rumbling” in the Processes menu. I also played with a few Effects.

If you double click on the track in your multi-track recording, you can edit that . On the left hand side are a few tabs, in order: Tasks, Effect, Markers, Properties. I’ve explored a few of these, but Effects was the most fun right away. By clicking on Effects you can choose an effect from the pop-up menu.

Once you have that applied, you can change they type of effect with another pop-up. It updates automatically in your file so you can go back and replay the new track with the adjustments. So far I’ve found some pretty cool things.

-Abby Vanim

~ by avanim on February 3, 2010.

One Response to “Fun Effects in Soundbooth”

  1. This post was informative for the most part. I think it read more like a broader tutorial that displayed some of the features, rather than an in depth “how to,” but overall it gets the job done informing the reader that effects are available to use in Soundbooth. Pictures showing the pop up menus and highlighting some of the aforementioned tips would enhance this post, so readers can verify that they are following directions with ease.

    As a nitpick, you say “you can change they type of effect,” when it should be “you can change the type of effect.” Grammar nazi!


Comments are closed.

