How To Use the Bone Tool in Flash

Flash. Animation. Movement. All of these words correlate. So let’s say you draw a character and want to make them move, but don’t want to redraw the character for each keyframe. Well, there’s a tool for that. It’s called the bone tool and I’m going to show you a simple example of how to make this work.

First off, I imported a nice background. Then I drew a character with arms, legs, and a body. Here’s an example of what you should have.

Now, for the bone tool. You’re going to click on the bone tool (looks like guessed it, bone!) and drag it over the torso of the body..then connect to each joint where you want your character to be able to bend. You will end up with something similar to this. Notice, I changed the little character to all pink as I forgot to save my project and flash crashed…so make sure you save!

Now, go to your next keyframe and begin to move the joints the way you want them by clicking on the selector and the the joint that you want to move.. I’m going to make my pink man dance. Now all you do is go over to each keyframe and move the joints..Once you are finished with this, you have an animated character in half the time that it would take you if you redrew each frame.

That’s all there really is to the bone tool! I hope you enjoy it.

Be sure to check out the finished product here and click on Digital Composition, then How-To Blogs and look at DIY Blog 11.

Take care,

Tiffany Nebraska

~ by spiffytiffy2009 on March 22, 2010.

