Bouncey ball animation in Flash CS4

As a beginner using CS4, I wanted to do something simple like making a “ball” bounce.

To do this, you first need to open the Flash program (I opened a Flash File Actionscript 3.0).

Then, on the right side of the screen, click the “rectangle tool,” then click the “oval” tool.

On the stage, draw a circle.  (I drew mine near the top so I could create a motion tween that resembles a ball bouncing on the ground).

After I drew that, I clicked on a random frame (frame 20) on the timeline (shown circled in green in the image seen above).  While that frame is highlighted blue, I went to the top of the screen and clicked on “Insert,” “Timeline,” then “blank keyframe.”  Once you do this, you will see a blank page.  Draw another circle anywhere on the page (I drew mine near the bottom to simulate a ball falling downward).

Next, you need to click a frame located between 1 and 20 (or whatever frame you chose on the timeline).

I clicked 10.  While 10 is highlighted, I then clicked “Insert” (on the top tool bar) then “shape tween.”

After that, to make it look like a ball is bouncing, I clicked on frame 30 and repeated the same steps as before.  (I clicked frame 30, then went to “insert,” “timeline,” “blank Keyframe.”  Then I drew another circle in a new location on the page.  After that you, again, pick a frame between the two (for me it is between 20 and 30 so I chose 24).  Finally, you click that frame, then “insert,” and “shape tween.”

Now, you are done.  Drag the red marker on the timeline to the start (at the left of the timeline), press enter and watch your basic animation!

(Click on the image below to watch my animation)

-Shana Coop.

~ by src38 on March 23, 2010.

