Making Sure You Have the Right Image File for Flash

For my flash animation, I created a character in MS Paint intending to use him as my leading role. Here he is now:

Problem was, He still has the white background around him. Even if I intended for nothing to be there, the background space was just replaced by a white fill. If I wanted to use him in my animation, I’d want it to just be the character, and not the background.

So I opened up the image of my character and removed the white space with the magic wand tool. (See my previous post about selection tools if you need assistance in doing this task. Should you need to do this.) I then went to save the image and Photoshop already selected the .PNG format for me. (Portable Networks Graphics) I’m no rocket scientist, so I don’t know specifically what it does, but I do know that by saving it as a PNG file, it kept the changes I made by cutting out the background. Instead of automatically filling in the background with white as it would if I saved it as a JPEG, the background remained a void; the exact thing I wanted when importing it and using it in Flash.

Make sure you optimize which format your image files are in so you have one less thing to worry about when using Flash. Believe me, the less you have to worry about, the better; Flash is a nightmare.

-Neil Parent

~ by njp24 on April 7, 2010.

