I can make GIFs too!

Anybody remember the internet of the late 1990s?  Yeah, neither do I.  I may have blocked it out intentionally.  Anyway, for my final blog post I decided to walk you all through the process of exporting a flash project as an animated GIF image!!!11!!one!!!

The first step is to make an image you want to animate!  Make sure to place the different things you want to animate in different layers!  I made a man (or a bald woman) who, for whatever reason, lacks a left eyeball but retains his/her pupil.

Next step is go and convert your respective layers into symbols and do some motion tweening!  I won’t go into details, but it involves a lot of right (COMMAND) clicking and selecting “motion tween” and moving things around.

Once you’re comfortable with your work of art, it’s time to export!  Go to File –>  Export –>  Export Movie…

Now for the difficult part.. finding the correct file type to export your masterpiece in.  DO NOT select “GIF Sequence”, you’ll fill your computer up with a million and a half annoying .gif images.  Instead, select “Animated GIF”…

Now click the shiny blue button that says “Save” on it and ta-daa!

(Click the image to see the animation)


Matt Pietropaoli

~ by mattpietro527 on April 14, 2010.

