Scale and Distort Transform (Photoshop)

This is something fairly basic for Photoshop, but you can get a lot of mileage out of it. I have seen some terrible parking jobs in my life, and not all of them have gotten the exorbitant fines I think they deserve. Using distort, I can realistically place a flat image and fold to the contours of a car. First, you’ll need your image and the image of what you want to put on the car. Click the move tool (V) and drag the ticket image onto the car image. The image was way too big for my photo, so I had to scale it down.

On the top toolbar, select Edit->Transform->Scale and drag the corner of the image inwards to shrink the image proportionally. Next, select Edit->Transform->Distort,

and shape the corners of the ticket onto the windshield. Once you hit Save, photoshop will ask you if you would like to apply the transformation, hit yes and you’re done!


~ by fingoscrip on September 12, 2010.

One Response to “Scale and Distort Transform (Photoshop)”

  1. This was a good post and a good thing to know when adding an image to another image to make it more realistic. It would have been nice to know when I was adding text to my photos during this week. The post is really descriptive and it is very easy to follow. I like how you added an image in the middle of the process to show a step besides the just the before and after. The only thing I can say to improve this post is give more detail on how you exactly shaped the ticket onto the windshield, but that is being extremely picky. Good post

Comments are closed.

