Moar Camtasia: Synchronizing and Framerate issues

while playing around with the program yesterday night, I noticed that video I had taken ended up with de-synchronized sound, and the framerate was to the point of being a powerpoint presentation. I looked and looked and asked all my friends who had the program, and neither of them were able to come up with a way to fix this post-recording. So, unlike my last article, this one does not have a happy ending and is more to talk about making sure that a recording taken by the camtasia recorder does not have these problems because as far as I know, there is no way to fix this without re-recording. Sorrow.

I realize now that while I went over the camtasia editing program, I did not go into the actual recorder, which is because it isn’t really useful for anything we’ve done in this class yet. But yet, here it is:


You all should know that the paler area in the border is the area to be recorded which can easily be adjusted as you please by dragging the boxes at the edges. the record box can be moved about so that it doesn’t get in the way of the part of the screen you’re recording. Two important things:

1. Clicking on “audio” does not, as one might think, just make it an audio recording, unfortunately, but rather turns the audio off. Awww.
2. Never minimize this part, or else the entire thing will disappear. This sounds annoying and it is.

Now, after everything I’ve done, it seems that the only real answer is that you want to make the recording dimensions as small as possible. This will not only decrease synchronization/framerate problems, but will make the video size smaller and make it faster to upload. Kind of a pain, and I’ll be sure to mention back if I find anything else to the contrary, but just know that if you want to make a video, you’re going to have to make sure that it’s as small as humanly possible.

~ by myinsects on October 31, 2010.

