A Quick Guide to the Quick Selection Tool in Adobe Photoshop

Not to state the obvious, but Photoshop is used to edit photos. Usually, the photographer does not want to alter the entire photo, but just one figure or specific figures. The easiest way to select such figures would be by using the Quick Selection tool.

When using the Quick Selection tool, you are basically coloring in your figure with your mouse to select it. First select the tool in the left menu bar as pictured on the left.

Once the cursor becomes a circle crosshair, you are ready to select the figure. Click and drag the crosshair across the object of your choosing and it should become selected (denoted as a dotted line moving around the edges of your object. In this case, I’m using the pelican on the right of my photo.

If you look closely, the dotted line runs outside of the feet. To trim or reshape the highlighted area, use the Add to Selection and Subtract from Selection buttons on the top. To make the selection area bigger, select add and work, from the inside, out. To make it smaller, select subtract and work, from the outside, in.

The “36” denotes pixel size of selection. This is the least you can add or subtract to your selection. In my example, I would subtract and click the area below the pelican’s feet and click and drag inward. I would do the same for any other ares I want to edit.

Jarad Kmietowicz

~ by jmk186 on September 19, 2011.

3 Responses to “A Quick Guide to the Quick Selection Tool in Adobe Photoshop”

  1. Really informative post about quick selection tool. I try to stay away from that tool just because I really do not have a good grasp on Photoshop resources yet. The images that helped illustrate the process on how to use the tool were also clear and you could easily see the selected area in the photo.

  2. I thought this particular post was great because it gives a close up of the selection tools. WordPress likes to shrink the screenshots so that they’re harder to see, so the inclusion of this blown up bar is what makes this particular post stand out for me.

  3. I actually had a lot of trouble with this when editing my “strange” photos and gave up on a concept I had for one of my pictures. You made me laugh in the first sentence, which caught my attention and made me want to keep reading. Your instructions were concise and I never got lost in the your wording.


Comments are closed.

