Superimposing Videos In Adobe Premiere Pro CS5.5 for Mac

The superimposition of visual work can create an effect to the video or photo without actually “affecting” the original pieces. In most cases, it brings chaos and a “seeing double (or triple or n-times)” effect to the viewer. Perhaps the way I got to it is a little too simple. Then again, I think it works pretty well.

Please note, this works best when two clips are shot from the same camera angle if you want one moving thing to standout. For the purpose of making the effect obvious to our followers, I am using two shots that are slightly off. You can have your opinion on how good the result looks.

The obvious first step once you are in Premiere is to import at least the videos you want to play over each other and drag them into their

respective video tracks. In this example, I used only two clips. Once there, click on the “Effect controls tab” in the top-center section of the screen. Then set the “Opacity” for each clip to a very small number. I chose 25% for the selected one as you can see. Then simply repeat for the rest of the clips, unless of course you want one clip to be more prominent than the other (set the one you want to stick out to a higher opacity).


I also noticed one clip I used was shot at a sunny time whereas the second was shot when it was overcast a few hours later. You may have to adjust the number for that like I had to.

Here is a freeze frame of the video with that effect:

Three more clips like that, and I have an all-star team! Well, I have an all-star video with only two.


-Jarad Kmietowicz


~ by jmk186 on October 24, 2011.

4 Responses to “Superimposing Videos In Adobe Premiere Pro CS5.5 for Mac”

  1. This is something I would not have thought to do. Not only do you show me a new technique you explain it pretty well.

  2. This was really descriptive and I thought it was really helpful. I did not use this for anything yet but if I needed to know how to do this I think your blog shows very constructively how to do so. It shows you that you need to combine the two images, also it says that you may need to use images that are different times of the day. Also you showed the image itself which showed me exactly what you were looking to do. I also think it is a really cool feature to use and it was neat that you figured this out on your own!
    Madison Knapp; Writing Digital Media

  3. I thought this post was really interesting. I had never even considered using this technique but now that there is such an informative tutorial regarding it, I am truly considering it. However, I felt that since the writer explained a situation in which the lightning was different, it would be beneficial for the readers if he described how to solve that particular problem.

  4. After reading this blog entry, I am now curious to incorporate this technique into one of my projects. I could easily follow the instructions and the limited use of pictures were effective, but not overpowering.

Comments are closed.

