Creating a custom brush in Photoshop.

Ever want to create a pattern that photoshop just didn’t have? Tired of their basic round brushes? Here’s how you can make your own:

First, open up Photoshop and create a new file. Let’s use 100 by 100 pixels for the measurement.

Next, make sure your color is set to black. Then draw out the pattern you want to turn into a brush:

New brush shape

When you’re done drawing your brush, go to Edit at the top, and click Define Brush Preset. Name it whatever you want, and you’ve made your own brush.

Have fun drawing!

-Daniel Goodstein

~ by dgoodst on October 30, 2011.

2 Responses to “Creating a custom brush in Photoshop.”

  1. This is an interesting aspect of Photoshop to learn — it would never have occurred to me to create my own brush shape for photo editing. I think the post would benefit from a little more directional detail, though. Although the pictures illustrate what each step in the process ends up looking like, they don’t clearly tell readers how to go about achieving the results. For example, I wouldn’t even know how to go about “draw[ing] out the pattern” I want for my brush. A little guidance here would go a long way for me. Maybe describe the buttons you’d click to get a drawing tool and to make sure it was going to draw in black. I think this would make your post even more useful. It’s a very neat Photoshop trick to be aware of.

  2. I agree with Catherine, I never really thought of creating a custom brush in Photoshop, but it’s definitely a cool concept that could add a little something extra to my work. More importantly, he includes step by step instructions that would be very difficult to mess up. It’s easy to follow and definitely something I’m going to try out. My only recommendation is to make the language more interesting rather than just saying “do this, then that” essentially.


Comments are closed.

