How to Make a Link Open in a New Tab Using HTML5

So you have a solid website now, and you want to add a link that opens in a new tab?  Easy!  Just follow these steps!

Using the basic HTML for a link, we can make that link open in a new tab in your browser.

The basic code for any link is:

< a href=”TargetLink.html”>Text That Will Appear</a >

Now if we add one simple thing, we will be able to make your new webpage open in a new tab!

by adding:


into the code, we will be able to make that link open in a new tab.

Put together, your code should look something like this:

< a href=”TargetLink.html” target=”_blank”>Text That Will Appear</a >

Now your website has links that open in new tabs!


-Dylan Atkinson

~ by mrfunnymandyl on September 23, 2012.

One Response to “How to Make a Link Open in a New Tab Using HTML5”

  1. Dylan,

    I love the tone you have set for the introduction to your blog, it gives off a feeling of excitement and makes me want to jump right into the task. As I began to get further into your instructions though I lost that enthusiasm as the tasks became unclear. I was not sure if the portion that reads “text that will appear” meant that you could put whatever you want as the title to your link or if it had some other meaning. I also did not understand why it was necessary to put “target=”_blank” “into the code. Overall I think I understand what the task is trying to accomplish. The steps to achieve this appear pretty easy and possibly do not need clarification. Maybe some visuals or other forms of verification would be helpful. Also I think if you kept your same level of excitement throughout the steps and added a little of your own flavor to the directions, it would have made the post that much better! I think you are off to a great start though and I am definitely going to use this to add a link to my site. Thank you so much for the helpful hints and good luck with your website!!

    -Mary Kathryn Flood

Comments are closed.

