Is something ruining your background? Erase it with Photoshop!

Ok, the first thing you’re going to want to do is turn up the volume in your headphones and take a drink of your beverage.  You want to be comfortable.  Open up Photoshop and open up the image you want to remove the background from.

In this case two undesirables are crowding the background of an otherwise lovely photo.

So it is time to get them out of there.  Click the eraser tool from the left side tool bar and select background eraser.  It helps to zoom in on the image when erasing, so use “command =”.  You also need to adjust some settings at the top of the page.  Set the “Limits” to “Find Edges” and play  around with the “tolerance”.  Around 80% tolerance is what i used.  Once I got most of the middle area erased I minimized the size of the eraser and got close to the edges of our faces.  Once I had everything erased and replaced with the checkered background I opened the picture I wanted as my new background, selected it, copied it, and pasted it.  

Then I went to the layers tool bar and drug layer 1 under layer 0.  What happened surprised me and confused me, but sometimes I like hitting the curve ball, so I stuck with it.  The orange hued transparency was accidental but worked well, I thought.


~ by krystalseth on September 25, 2012.

