HTML Unordered Lists

HTML lists appear in web browsers as bulleted lines of text. There are actually three different types of HTML lists, including unordered lists (bullets), ordered lists (numbers), and definition lists. Each list type has its own list tag, and in this post I’m going to show you how to make a bulleted list. This was really helpful to me when I was doing my layout and adding in my links. I feel it made my page look a lot more organized.

HTML – unordered  lists

An unordered list (<ul>) signifies to a web browser that all list items contained inside the <ul> tag should be bulleted.  The default bullet type for most web browsers is a full disc, but this can be adjusted using an HTML attribute called type.

**Below is the syntax for how you type the code in HTML to get a bulleted list:

HTML List Item Code:



<li>list 1>

<li>list 2>

<li>list 3>



on your website it will look like this:

HTML List Items:

  • List 1
  • List 2
  • List 3

The actual list tags themselves, such as <ul>, are nothing but container elements for list items (<li>). They work to identify the beginning and ending of an HTML list element. I hope this post was helpful!


-Olivia Allegretto

~ by oma12 on September 28, 2012.

