Let’s talk vintage

Hello Peers. It is now time for me to talk to you about two of my most favorite things photoshop and vintage. Now this tutorial is going to require a lot of layers and personal tweaking so don’t take my numbers as the end all be all. We’re going for a feel not a set thing.

As usual I’m going to use one of my photos for the tutorial, because I like to multi-task and this image needs editing.

Now it you read my black and white DIY you’ll know I love saturation so..

1.Create a new layer for hue/saturation. You do this by going to the layers tab and going to new adjustment layer. In it you are going to lower the saturation and raise the lightness. Since this is a night photo I only lowered the saturation to -35 and raised the lightness to +10. If you are doing a photo that’s during the day or just has better lighting then you would be able to make more extreme changes.

Step 1

2.The next step is to add another adjustment layer this time for vibrance. You can adjust this to however vibrant you want the image. I am going to raise the vibrancy on it so that the colors pop. I’m raising my vibrancy to about +38

3.So third time’s the charm. Create another adjustment layer for brightness/contrast which is my second favorite adjustment. I yanked the brightness to +29 and the contrast to +30.

4. So now you should have three layers hue/saturation, vibrance, and brightness/contrast.

5. Make an empty layer and then grab your brush tool. This is where it is going to get very free form. For this I am using a number 17 brush with a 463 px. You can change your brush by clicking on the brush bar at the top under image and totally experiment with other brushes and sizes.


6.Now we’re going to pick a color I am going to start with an orange.


7. Throw caution to the wind and randomly paint your image. Now put the layer from normal and change the opacity to a low setting. I set mine to 17.

8. Keeping all the same settings pick another color (I went with purple) and brush it on. This is all on the same layer.


9. Now create a new layer and pick a new color (blue) and rub it on. This one will be on a different setting called lighten and once again reduce opacity.


10. New layer new color I would go with a light one for this layer. You’re going to color dodge this layer. Lower the opacity.

11. Repeat again. Layer, new color, and paint (green). Use lighten on this layer and crank down the opacity.

12. Now we’re going to add on an adjustment layer for gradient map. After you click this adjustment click ok then you image will be shaded in the color you used last.


13. Click the color bar so that a list of presets pop up. They will what what kinds of hues and tones there are. I’m picking a warm hue.


14. You can really pick from three layer options screen, soft light, or lighten next to opacity. Then lower the opacity.


15. Now create a new layer. Then go to image, apply image ok. Then I’m going to take the burn tool and burn around the edges. Adjust the size of the tool to you needs.


16. Burn the edges of the picture as well as any parts of the image you want. Go slowly and build up. I used a brush with 0 hardness.


17. Now it’s time to tweak. Make a new adjustment layer for photo filter. Pick whatever filter you want, but make sure to tone the density down on whatever one you chose. I went with cyan.

18. Repeat step 17 with another filter 2 more times.


19. Now find some image of lighting online (ravey kind of stuff) and open it in photoshop. Copy paste it into your image.


20. Go to Edit Free Transform and move the image around until you are satisfied.


21. Change the image to either lighten or screen depending on what you want to achieve. I did lighten with an opacity of 39.


22. Next create a new layer and take your paint bucket and fill the image with black Then go filter render and then lens flare.


23. adjust the flare to where you want it on the page. Free transform it to the location.


24. and your done adjust as necessary.


This was my first attempt at this convoluted wonder and sadly it came out better than I expected. Mainly cause I expected less than nothing. This is definitely a technique that requires patience and practice. Once I learn patience I’ll get back to you. This technique is sloppy and wonderful so do try it. Experimentation is the name of this game.


Good luck





~ by ourladyofperpetualsarcasm on September 30, 2012.

