A loop is a copy of your sound sample that gets repeated.  If you your sample is short and you need more of it, then the loop feature is for you.  In this tutorial I use musical typing on GarageBand.  So, open up your garage band and either select live instrument if you are recording your own instrument or sound, or in my case use the GarageBand Piano.

To get to musical typing I selected window then musical typing.  This allowed me to use the keyboard like a piano keyboard.  I hit the little red record dot on the bottom of the screen and then typed a verse of notes that I remembered.  I hit the record button again to stop Garage band from recording.  Next I hovered over the end of my track and drug it back to the end of the notes being played to get rid of the blank space.  This is important because you don’t want blank space and no sound in the middle of your loop. So, then i went to control on the task bar and selected Loop Region.  This option should be near the bottom of the drop down menu.  Now the notes that I played on the keyboard will show up again and again and play for a minute or two rather than 15 seconds.  This tool is especially nice for a sound clip you have that only lasts a couple seconds.  Now it can last for as long as you’d like it to.

~ by krystalseth on October 2, 2012.

