Scrabble tiles text effect with Photoshop

Have you seen text written in scrabble tiles somewhere on the internet? They look really nice and different, and it’s not that difficult to create them. I’m going to show you how to create your own scrabble tiles text effect.

First we need a picture as background. Once you have your picture opened in Photoshop, pick Rounded Rectangle Tool to create the tiles. You can choose whatever color and size you like.

Right click on the shape layer to design Layer Style. The following settings are what I do with my layer. They are all about the border and the shadow effect of the tile. You can adjust the parameters according to the preview effect.

Bevel and Emboss:

Drop shadow:

Gradient Overlay:

Now we can add the letter we need inside the tile. Simply pick the Text Tool, type in the text box and drag the text onto the tile. The font I use is Lithos Pro and the size is 90pt. After creating the text layer, I apply a simple Drop Shadow effect to make the text appear engraved in the tile.

Once you are done with the text and the tile, select both of them and group the two layers (Layer -> Group Layers). Now you can move the tile with the text on it and place it in your picture as needed. Then simply duplicate the group and type in new letters to finish your words.

That’s it! Now you have your own scrabble tiles. My final result is shown as follows:

Thank you for reading my blog. I hope you all have enjoyed it.

Yang Chen

~ by yangchen29 on October 7, 2012.

