Creating HTML Without DreamWeaver

If you’re like me and you don’t have access to DreamWeaver on your at-home Mac, but can’t always make it to the lab during hours, it gets to be a little difficult to schedule in time to work on your webpage.  That’s why I did a little research, and found a really great alternative for creating and previewing HTML on my personal computer.

This lovely, and may I add, FREE, software, available from the App Store, called TextWrangler, is a really easy tool to use to create HTML.

All you have to do is download the software, input whatever HTML coding you need, and then when you “Save As…” just make sure you save the file as .html.  Then, you can go find the file in whatever folder you’ve saved it to and double click it to see it in the browser view.  I’ve saved a sample on my desktop for easily accessing a preview while I’m working.

This is just one of what I’m sure are many solutions to using free software to create HTML codes for your webpage.

 

— Mallory Horn

~ by meh109 on January 21, 2013.

4 Responses to “Creating HTML Without DreamWeaver”

  1. The introduction really captured my attention because you talked about not having a Mac and I am a PC user. Just by reading the first sentence I was really excited to read this. However, I was a little disappointed when you didn’t share with us what software we have to download and what it is. Having that information there would have really helped add to the blog.

    -Nikki Abban

  2. I believe this post has the potential to be the most informational, but may be slightly misguided. An .html file can be opened with any text editor on any computer, for example using Notepad on Windows. The same is true for any .css file as well.
    -Zack Hall

  3. best info

  4. The introduction really captured my attention because you talked about not having a Mac and I am a PC user. Just by reading the first sentence I was really excited to read this. Ignore my first comment, I didn’t see where it said text wrangler, but maybe next time you could bold it so it draws attention to it.
    -Nikki A

Comments are closed.

 
