Background Images

I’ve been struggling with finding the right color for the homepage on my website.  Over the weekend I looked into putting an image as your background and I figured I would share my findings.  First you need to make sure that the image you choose will not distract from any of the information or media on your page.  After picking a background image you will insert it into the following tag:

body {background-image:url(‘paper.gif’); background-color:#cccccc;}
The color tag was added so that a background appears while the image is loading.  It is important to keep in mind that you will need a very large image for your background, or else it will repeat.  In order to avoid this default use the following code:
body {background-image:url(‘img_tree.png’); background-repeat:no-repeat;}
Also you need to cite the image you are using with a url from which the original image was derived.
Sarah Cinski


~ by sec86 on February 11, 2013.

