Sounds and Premiere Pro

I know we won’t be working with Premiere for a few weeks, but I figured since I’ve been using it for a project, I might give some tips on handling sound and video.

So the first thing you’ll want to do is import whatever media you need for the project:Image

For this example, I just used one sound clip, but you can choose multiple files by using the Command button.


Whatever media you choose should show up on the left-hand window. You can then click and drag this to the timeline in the bottom window:

Screen shot 2013-02-11 at 3.19.30 PM

You can use multiple audio and video tracks and the timeline shows you where they sync up. Now if you want to mess around a little, one of the things I did with my project was play with the speed of the clip. Right-click the audio file in the timeline and select Speed/Duration:


Here you can change the percentage, which I changed from 100% to 50%:


Now if you want to put video with this sound, but the video already has audio attached, there is a very simple way to get rid of it. Once importing and placing the video clip in the timeline, right-click and select Unlink:


Then you’ll be able to select the audio clip and delete it, and then match up the new audio:

Hopefully this will help some beginners with using Premiere!

— Melissa

~ by mdiasmandoly on February 11, 2013.

One Response to “Sounds and Premiere Pro”

  1. […] unlinked and deleted the audio that I didn’t want to use, which I’ve explained in a previous post.) Now that your video is in the middle window, select the “Effect Controls” […]

Comments are closed.

