Struggling through Simplicity, Adventures in HTML

Today, I was finally able to work through the issue of padding, margins, and text breaking.  I can now move around the size of my window all I want–the text doesn’t move!

Most people would probably view this as an extremely simple skill, but it’s something that I really struggled with.  I didn’t know where to put the codes for the different aspects of this spacing.  I also had to play with the size of the borders until it looked how I wanted it to.

What finally worked was adding the margin commands in with the rest of the text formatting: the color, font size, etc.

The final paragraph section of my css code looks like this:

p {text-align:justify;font-family:Arial,Tahoma,Geneva,sans-serif;font-size:16px;margin-left:50px;margin-right:50px;padding:10px;width:750px;border:60px #A7A7A7;}

The bolded section is the text spacing element of the code.

Finally, after my numerous struggles with this specific task, that I’m sure is so simple to most, my page has fixed text!  Can’t wait to continue learning CSS and HTML, one baby step at a time.

~ by meh109 on February 11, 2013.

