Deja Video: Blending Clips

So my first digicomp post was about blending images in Photoshop, and now I will teach you a very simple way to quickly blend clips in Premiere Pro.

Start out by dragging one of the clips over to the timeline:

Image

 

I used two separate clips here because my second layer is longer. When dragging the second clip over, make sure it sits outside of this first clip:

Image

If you want to cut a clip, select the razor tool:

Image

 

And then splice the clip wherever you want. Anyway, back to blending! You’ll want to double click on one of the clips so that it appears in the middle window:

Image

(Here I’ve already unlinked and deleted the audio that I didn’t want to use, which I’ve explained in a previous post.) Now that your video is in the middle window, select the “Effect Controls” tab:

Image

Now you can use the Opacity controls to lower the percentage:

Image

 

The changes will appear in the right-hand window! 

Just be careful not to go too overboard, as I have the tendency of doing. I’ve uploaded an example of what might have too many blended layers of images that aren’t visually compatible here. There are a few moments that I really like, but be careful especially with motion (one clip is of a car driving forward and the other clip is of buildings moving the opposite direction) because it might just end up giving the viewer a headache.

 

— Melissa

~ by mdiasmandoly on March 4, 2013.

 
