Composite photos in photoshop

This guide will take you through the step by step process of creating a composite photo in photoshop, and should cover any potential issues one my run into while creating such an image. For my example I would prefer to be playing a limited edition epiphone instead of my beat down second hand acoustic guitar I’m playing in the picture below:

Image

1. Choose the picture you want to add to the original picture. In my case, I found a guitar on a high-contrast background.

Image

 

2. Select and extract the object to be added. First I use the quick selection tool to select the guitar..

Image                    Image

 

…and then copy and paste the guitar onto the original image

Image

 

3. Now it should be clear that simply adding the guitar to the area over the old guitar would look sloppy and unrealistic, and it would be difficult to erase around the desired areas, so now I duplicate the area in the original image around which the new object will be placed…\

Image

 

…and erase the rough area in which the new object will show through, taking special care to leave the areas that would naturally extend over the object. 

Image

 

For my example, my left-hand fingers, right arm, left leg, and my friend’s shirt to the right are the important objects that will cover the guitar, and so they are specifically left in the image.

4. Lastly, the guitar is placed over the original, and the new duplicate layer is placed over that, giving the guitar a more natural positioning:

Image

 

~ by kareemhkandil on March 18, 2013.

 
