Separating Audio from Video: A Cautionary Tale

For my video project, when I recorded all of the video, I wanted to edit the audio separately.  I wanted to perform the same steps to equalize the sound in my video as i had for my audio project, to create a clearer sound.

To do this is simple, at least in Adobe Premiere.  I couldn’t figure it out at first, and I had to look it up.  If you simply right click the clip you are working with, and click “Unlink Video and Audio”, the audio will become separate.

From here, you are free to copy/cut the audio and edit it in an external program (like Audacity, in my case.)

However, be warned that you should only perform EQUALIZING and VOLUME changed on the audio track.  I made the mistake of cutting some of the audio, and upon reimporting my ‘masterpiece’, it was abhorrently misaligned with what I had originally recorded.

You should not make any audio cuts to your audio if you want it to still align with your video! Be warned!

~ by zjh7cdm on March 25, 2013.

