Creating Text From An Image on Adobe Photoshop

Step 1: Open the image you would like to use as your lettering


Step 2: Duplicate this layer

The easiest way to do that is by using the keyboard shortcut Ctrl+J (Win) / Command+J (Mac). Or you can right click on “Layer 1” and click “duplicate.”


Step 3: Add a new blank layer between “Layer 1” & “Layer 2”

Hold down your Ctrl (Win) / Command (Mac) key and click on the New Layer icon at the bottom of the Layers palette.

Step 4: Fill the new layer with White

You can use the fill icon or go to edit > fill

Step 5: Select Layer 1 & use the type tool to add text


Step 6: Move the text layer below “Layer 1” (background copy here)


Step 7: Select Layer 1 (Again, background copy here) & create a clipping mask

With “Layer 1″ selected in the Layers palette, go up to the Layer menu at the top of the screen and choose Create Clipping Mask:


Step 8: All done!


– Kathleen Meriano

~ by kmeriano on September 23, 2013.

6 Responses to “Creating Text From An Image on Adobe Photoshop”

  1. I really enjoyed this post because using an image to make text is not something I see very often or even think about doing myself. It presented me with a new option that I would be impressed by if I had seen it on anothers’ website.

    I think that your description of the procedure was very thorough, but as a semi-novice on Photoshop, this looks easier than I may find it as I’m going through. For someone with even less experience, I imagine it may be difficult to find your way around the program. I did find it very helpful that you included both Mac and WIndows commands!

  2. I thought your post was very informative and taught me something new (I have never used Photoshop before). I liked that you included instructions/pictures on where to find each tool.

  3. I thought that this post was very well structured in terms of style. As opposed to using paragraphs I thought that the “steps” were a lot more helpful in getting the message across in a clear and concise manner. The screenshots of the steps were also very helpful to clarify the process and I appreciate that you put in instructions for both Macs and PCs.

    Based on my previous experience with Photoshop I know that using layers can be tricky when you first begin so I think that it was a helpful thing to have a picture of.

  4. This tutorial is really helpful for someone like me who only has a basic understanding of how photoshop works. I’ve never been able to create text from an image properly, but this gave simple and easy to read instructions for the future. Each step is descriptive enough for the reader to understand what they need to do to create text from an image. The inclusion of shortcuts such as “The easiest way to do that is by using the keyboard shortcut Ctrl+J (Win) / Command+J (Mac). Or you can right click on “Layer 1″ and click “duplicate.”” was also very helpful to me because I like to do things with as much ease as possible and the shortcuts definitely make everything easier. All of the screenshots were appropriate supplements to their corresponding steps. The only downfall was that this tutorial blog post didn’t explicitly state that it was for photoshop so I think if someone were to google how to “create a mask in photoshop” or how to “create text from an image in photoshop”, this wouldn’t have come up in the search results.

  5. I particularly enjoyed this tutorial for its lesson. I thought the breakdown of steps made it very easy to follow along with the creation of image-wording. This trick although not the most fundamental of techniques in photoshop- is a perfect way to create an eye catching title. When we think of branding we often think of the logo a given company creates. This lesson made me consider new ways to create a logo or a brand by incorporating photography in graphic design/wording. The use of key shortcuts and images in the tutorial made this lesson palatable for a beginner like myself.

  6. This blog post was very informational and oriented towards a large audience (inclusive of Mac and PC users). My background in imaging software is very limited so I appreciated learning a new trick with photoshop and using layers more generally. The trick is easily applicable to a wide variety of situations, not just text, so I feel like it’s a good ‘building block’ tip that enables users to learn more about the software on our own, experimenting with new ideas.

Comments are closed.

