Editing HTML to Make Hyperlinks Open in New Tabs

When I blog, I prefer to link my information sources directly in the text of my post. This lets me incorporate my citations without footnotes or long works cited pages and lets any reader who wants to know the source to avoid scrolling to the end of the post for a citation. However, my blog has been opening my hyperlinked citations in the same tab as the blog is being viewed in. I don’t want readers to link away from my site to the source and then forget to come back and finish reading; I want them to open the source in a new tab.

If you are experiencing a similar problem, this worked for me.

If you look at the HTML view of your post after inserting a hyperlinked piece of text, it should look like this:

Screen Shot 2014-02-01 at 9.25.06 AM

Now to make the link open in a new tab, before the “>An Experian study</a>” hit spacebar and insert the following phrase: target=”_blank”

The string of HTML should now look like this:

Screen Shot 2014-02-01 at 9.31.35 AM

Once you update/publish your post, the link will open in a new tab.


Sam Rodd

~ by sam rodd on February 1, 2014.

