Fading In & Out Your Audio

Sometimes it’s best to ease into or out of your audio when mixing in Adobe Audition.  In today’s DIY blog post, I’ll be discussing how to use fading in and/or out to your advantage.  It’s a simple but key tool when mixing audio.  So, to start, I have an audio mp3 clip of Foster The People’s “Don’t Stop”.  This is how the audio appears to me without touching anything.  

Image

 

On the top left and top right corners of your clip you should see two (one on each side) boxes that appear to have 2 triangles in them.  These are your fade in (box on the left) and fade out (box on the right) icons.  Dragging around this clip is how you customize your fade!  Drag the icon inward to determine your fade length and play with the icon’s curve in order to achieve the perfect intro or exit to your clip.  Lets play with our audio clip.  

Image

As you can see, when clicking the top left box icon, a yellow curve I can play with appears.  I created a fade in curve nearly thirty seconds in length.  This fade in changes my audio volume and appearance in Audition.  You can also change the shape of your fade line to be either linear or “S” shaped cosine by going into Clip-> Fade In/Fade Out-> Linear/Cosine.  

Image

I’ve added another clip into my mixer so now I’m working with 2 tracks.  Using fade in and/or fade out is key to see how two different clips mix together.  One last thing, if you ever want to delete your fades you simply go to Clip-> Fade In/Fade Out-> No Fade.  See below:

 Image

~ by kevhillnyu on October 27, 2013.